Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



Tholm Keane scored the win in the ninth leg of the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix aboard James Buckley and Caroline Teltsch’s BMH Big Time.

Making the most of a late draw in the 14 strong jump-off, Keane set an unbeatable target of a faultless round in a time of 46.02 seconds to clinch the win in Saturday’s €4,500 feature class at Galway County Show, sponsored by Walsh Heating & Plumbing and Martin Flesk Plumbing. 

BMH Big Time is by Luidam, out of the Cavalier Royale-sired dam Magestic Cavalier. A successful season in 2016 saw Keane and stallion selected to represent Ireland at the World Breeding Championships in Lanaken in the seven-year-old divisions and this year the pair have already shown promise featuring in the top six in the fourth leg of the league in Barnadown.

Keane relegated long-time leader Cormac Rafferty to the runner-up position. Rafferty had set the time to beat with KMR Benzini at 46.15. Rafferty and the nine-year-old Morgangold Major-sired gelding have been on a good run of form, finishing sixth in their New Heights Championship Series debut at Mullingar before going on to also take a top ten finish in Sunday’s NHCS Grand Prix at Galway County.

Michael Duffy and Castleforbes Vladimir, another combination to feature in Sunday’s NHCS, were also on form as the only other pair to come home inside the 37-second mark in Saturday’s Grand Prix. Duffy secured the yellow rosette when across the line in 46.36.

Only two other riders managed to supply double clear rounds on the day with the emphasis being placed on caution over speed. Francis Connors finished the higher of the two, completing in 53.55 with Newmarket Clare Lady while Jessica Burke stopped the clock at 57.81.

Young rider Jack Ryan rounded out the top six with Cavalier Teaca. Ryan had clocked the fastest time of the day, 42.34, albeit with a single error.

Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix League Galway County Show June 17th 2017 Result

  1. Tholm Keane               BMH Big Time                       0/0 46.02
  2. Cormac Rafferty         KMR Benzini                          0/0 46.15
  3. Michael Duffy            Castleforbes Vladimir             0/0 46.36
  4. Francis Connors          Newmarket Clare Lady,         0/0 53.55
  5. Jessica Burke               Express Trend                         0/0 57.81
  6. Jack Ryan                    Cavalier Teaca                         0/4 42.34
  7. Liam O'Meara             Mr. Coolcaum                         0/4 46.48
  8. Sean Monaghan          I Do Van De Kwakkelhoek     0/4 58.65