Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



Curran on top at Tattersalls

Captain Geoff Curran claimed the first of back to back victories at Tattersalls Show when coming out on top in the 15th leg of the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix.

Curran secured the win in Saturday’s €5000 Friends of Rolestown sponsored Grand Prix when fastest in a 14-horse jump-off, posting a faultless round in a time of 40.30 seconds aboard Galway Bay Easy Touch.

Bred by Justin Burke of Galway Bay Stud, Galway Bay Easy Touch is by Prince Des Vaux out of the Touchstone-sired dam Simply Touch. A new mount to Curran this season, Galway Bay Easy Touch was formerly campaigned by Lt. David Power with Curran only taking over the reins last month at the CSI3* in Bonheiden. Curran has gelled quickly with the nine-year-old gelding and showcased the form to come at the last leg of the league in Balmoral with a single time fault.

Alexander Butler took the runner-up position with HS Copperhead Cruise. Butler made it home within striking distance of Curran’s time on the 10-year-old Cruising-sired mare, recording 40.87. Butler was another rider on good form over the two days also featuring in the line-up of the New Heights Champion Series with Eldorado.

Francis Connors proved almost a second off this pace with Hyperion across the line in 41.76.  Connors has been exceptionally consistent over the league placing a total of eight times to date and currently occupying the runner-up position on the leader board.

Tholm Keane was the only other rider to complete with a double clear round on the day. Riding the eight-year-old Luidam-sired stallion BMH Big Time, Keane stopped the clock at 43.37 to guarantee the green rosette.

Young rider Darragh Ryan scorched around with Zuidam in the fastest time of the day, 37.53, but paid the price when a single fence came down relegating the pair to fifth place on this occasion.

Ballypatrick Stables also filled the final place in the line-up with Greg Broderick securing sixth place. Paired with Daify, Broderick had set the pace at 40.78 but also incurred four faults.

Five legs of the league remain with the next round taking place this weekend in Cork at Maryville Stables.


Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix League Tattersalls 22nd July 2017 Result

  1. Captain Geoff Curran Galway Bay Easy Touch        0/0 40.30
  2. Alexander Butler        HS Copperhead Cruise           0/0 40.87
  3. Francis Connors          Hyperion                                 0/0 41.76
  4. Tholm Keane               BMH Big Time                       0/0 43.37
  5. Darragh Ryan              Zuidam                                    0/4 37.53
  6. Greg Broderick           Daify                                       0/4 40.78
  7. John Floody                Bronson De Reve                    0/4 41.62
  8. Darryl Walker             Cushions                                 0/4 45.28