Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



O'Meara grabs victory at Omagh

SPONSORED ON THE DAY: The Silverbirch Hotel, Dillon Bass Ltd. Powers Whiskey 

A very successful trip to Omagh Show for Tipperary’s Liam O’Meara and Mr. Coolcaum as they stole the lead from John Floody to secure yet another victory in the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix.

O’Meara was last to go in the jump off out of the eight clears in the first round and took the spoils with Mr.Coolcaum for the second time of the series (previously at Charleville Show) in a time of 42.22.

John Floody and HTS Blackrock posted a time of 42.61 to clinch second position from Peter Smyth and CHS Cruise who stopped the clock just one hundredths of a second slower at 42.62. Smyth also finished in sixth position on his other horse Roscrib De Ross, while Floody and Shalamar Cassino had an unfortunate knock at the final fence to land with four faults and a time of 44.33 to slot into seventh position.

Emily Turkington and Jay Gatsby were first to go in the jump off and had a beautiful round to begin proceedings with a time of 44.32. She did not hold the top spot for long and ended up finishing in forth position overall.

Philip Gaw and Ardnacashel Coovella finished in fifth position in the line up after a beautiful double clear, stopping the clock in a time of 49.78

Declared: 40
Through to jump off:8
Double Clears: 6
Highest Placed Young Rider: Jonathan Smyth (12th place) 

1st: Liam O’Meara,Mr.Coolcaum (0/0-42.22)
2nd:John Floody, HTS Blackrock (0/0-42.61)
3rd:Peter Smyth, CHS Krooze (0/0-42.62)
4th:Emily Turkington, Jay Gatsby (0/0-44.32)
5th:Philip Gaw, Ardnacashel Coovella (0/0-49.78)
6th:Peter Smyth, Roscrib de Ross (0/0-54.30)
7th:John Floody, Shalamar Cassino (0/4-44.33)
8th:Gerard Clarke Jnr, Jockeyhall Midas Touch (0/8-44.66)
9th:Darragh Ryan, Carthalvin JK Horsetrucks Z (1)
10th: Gerard O’Neill, Castlefield Cass (4) 

Highest Placed Young Rider: Jonathan Smyth - Winner of the €100 TRI Equestrian Voucher