Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



 Lennon thrives at Tattersalls

The Grand Prix, kindly sponsored on the day by the Friends of Rolestown saw Dermot Lennon lead MJM Pursuit to victory out of a field of 75 starters. The Tom Holden built track proved difficult with only 8 combinations moving forward to the jump off.

First to take on the test of the second round was Harriet Ella Cooper who sadly had eight faults combine to her first round clear with a time of 44.72 which left her in eight place overall.

Peter Smyth and Roscrib de Ross were next into the ring gave us our first of six double clears in a time of 39.88, which was quickly beaten by Captain Geoff Curran and Carnlea who was next into the ring, shaving nearly a second off Smyths time to stop the clock in 38.52. This time was good enough to leave Captain Curran in third place at the final standings.

Matt Garrigan, our second Young Rider of the second round who found success at the previous leg of this series with HHS La Scala secured the quickest time of the day with 34.76, however, with one fence on the floor, unfortunately, that brought Garrigan’s final placing to seventh position.

Michael Pender and HHS Brunchchurch fought hard and put up a very quick time of 37.02 which secured him the €100 TRI Equestrian voucher for the highest placed young rider at each leg. Pender was tipped off first place by the next rider into the ring, our eventual winner Dermot Lennon.

Dermot Lennon steered MJM Pursuit around the track in an unbeatable time of 36.41. With two riders left to go, it was going to be a tough time and round to beat.

Greg Broderick on Dabelle and Kenneth Graham on Democrat fought valiantly, however, were not the lucky ones on the day finishing fifth and sixth respectively, both jumping clear with times of 40.14 and 40.51.

The next stop on the series is Maryville Stables on the 28th July

 1st: Dermot Lennon, MJM Pursuit (0/0-36.41)
2nd: Michael Pender, HHS Brunchchurch (0/0-37.02)
3rd:Cpt. Geoff Curran, Carnlea (0/0-38.52)
4th: Peter Smyth, Roscrib de Ross (0/0-39.88)
5th: Greg Broderick, Dabelle (0/0-40.14)
6th: Kenneth Graham, Democrat (0/0-40.51)
7th:Matt Garrigan, MHS La Scala (0/4-34.76)
8th:Harriet Ella Cooper, Annaghmore Small Hero (0/8-44.72)
9th: Geoff Curran, Ringwood Glen (1- 82.01)
10th: Darragh Ryan, MHS Carlos (1- 84.11)

Posted in: National News