Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



Captain Curran is victorious at Barnadown while O’Meara takes National Grand Prix League Title

An exciting final of the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix got underway earlier today (Saturday, 1st September) at Barnadown Equestrian.

With 75 declared combinations, 65 of these started the competition. A strong course saw just eleven competitors making their way to the second round. The final leg of the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix was kindly sponsored by both Ballypatrick Stables and O’Reilly Hyland Real Estate.

It was Captain Geoff Currans day for victory with Drumiller Lough storming around the jump off course in an unbeatable time of 41.45.

Young Rider, Mikey Pender really pushed HHS Burnchurch but was point three seconds to slow and had to settle for second place. Pender also won the TRI Equestrian €100 voucher for being the top placed Young Rider in the class.

Adrienne Dixon and Killossery Kaiden were also close to Captain Currans time, just over a second slower stopping the clock in a time of 42.81.

Dondoctro Ryal K and Ger O’Neill were also in close contention when they left all poles standing in a time of 43.18 to slot into fourth place, while Philip McGuane and Winslow High remained in fifth position with a double clear in a time of 44.07

Joint sponsor of the day, Greg Broderick provided us with a foot perfect round in 44.92 to secure sixth place with Dabelle.

Promising Young Rider, Kayleigh Soden and Ard Leaderman stopped the clock in 47.94 to take seventh position.

Darryl Walker, first to go in the first round set up a steady clear in a time of 48.79, this was then good enough to finish in eighth place. However, Walker was also presented with third placing in the overall league and is awarded €1,000.

Although out of the placings on this occasion, Liam O’Meara had the Overall League Winner title well wrapped up prior to the final leg. O’Meara was presented with both Overall League Winner for 2018 with Mr. Coolcaum, Runner Up with Cruaighgraigue Jack Take Flight and also won the Leading Owner award of the league.

1st: Cpt. Geoff Curran, Drumiller Lough (0/0-41.45)
2nd:Michael Pender, HHS Brunchchurch (0/0-41.75)
3rd: Adrienne Dixon, Killossery Kaiden (0/0-42.81)
4th: Ger O’Neill, Dondoctro Ryal K (0/0-43.18)
5th: Philip McGuane, Winslow High (0/0-44.07)
6th:Greg Broderick, Dabelle (0/0-44.92)
7th:Kayleigh Soden, Ard Leaderman (0/0-47.94)
8th: Darryl Walker, Caliva Charca MM Z (0/0-48.79)

Overall League Winner: Liam O’Meara, Mr. Coolcaum
Runner Up: Liam O’Meara, Curraighgraigue Jack Take Flight
Third overall: Darryl Walker, Kiss N Fly
Leading owner: Liam O’Meara