Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



Waterford riders fill top two places as Capt Geoff Curran wins opening round of the 2019 HSI/TRM New Heights Champions Series

Waterford's Capt Geoff Curran and the Minister for Defence-owned Irish Sport Horse Glengarra Wood, have claimed victory in the opening round of the 2019 Horse Sport Ireland/TRM New Heights Champions Series today (Sunday) at the Meadows Equestrian Centre in Lurgan, Co Armagh.

With nine clears out of thirty in the first round, eight went forward to the to the jump-off, where Curran's clear in a time of 36.90 seconds saw him take the winners prize. Glengarra Wood (ISH), bred by Myles Somers from Co. Wexford, is a nine-year-old grey gelding by Capitalist (HOLST) out of Cavalier Forest (ISH), by Cavalier Clover Lad (ISH). 

Runner-up spot also went to a rider from Co Waterford, with Cappagh's Gemma Phelan guiding Rory Costigan`s GRC Acapella to a clear in 37.38. All of the top three finishers jumped double clear rounds, including Galway's Jessica Burke who finished third with Liam Nicholas`s Express Trend in 39.70.

Cathal Daniels, who was part of the Irish Eventing team that claimed the silver medal at the 2018 World Equestrian Games, showed his Show Jumping talent by taking fourth place with Michelle Nelson`s Dartans Quality Brigade. Kilkenny's Jack Ryan was the highest-placed Young Rider - finishing fifth with Anne Marie Fagan`s Essenar High Hopes, while another Kilkenny rider, Eddie Moloney, completed the top six with Caroline Teltsch`s Andiamix Hero Z.

The second round of the Horse Sport Ireland/TRM New Heights Champions Series takes place in Portmore on May 5th. 

(Photo credit: toriocphotography)

1st Minister For Defence`s Glengarra Wood (Capt. Geoff Curran) 0/0 36.90
2nd Rory Costigan`s GRC Acapella (Gemma Phelan) 0/0 37.38
3rd Liam Nicholas`s Express Trend (Jessica Burke) 0/0 39.70
4th Michelle Nelson`s Dartans Quality Brigade (Cathal Daniels) 0/4 37.50
5th Anne Marie Fagan`s Essenar High Hopes (Jack Ryan) 0/4 37.54
6th Caroline Teltsch`s Andiamix Hero Z (Eddie Moloney) 0/37.96
7th Rory Finnerty’s All Action (Mark Finnerty) 0/8 47.64
8th Robin Bingham’s Templepatrick Welcome Limmerick (Peter Smyth) 0/F 
9th Marguerite Ryan’s  Moneybroom Dancer (Jack Ryan) 0/Withdrawn from 2nd Round 
10th, Marguerite Ryan’s Cavalier Teaca (Jack Ryan) 4/71.66