Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



** Coolmore Pony Premier Finals JAG Equestrian **

Following four competitive rounds, the Coolmore Pony Premier came to an exciting conclusion last Saturday, with Jag Equestrian in County Kildare hosting the final leg of the series. With €4,000 on offer over the four divisions, it was not surprising that the league was hard fought from the start. It was neck and neck going into the final round in the 128cm under 10 between Elizabeth Mc Cracken and Charlie Flynn, both on 23 points. In the end it was Elizabeth McCracken and Sweet Lilly that claimed this title as she took seventh place in the final round.

The 128cm 10 Coolmore Stud Pony Premier (85cm/90cm) saw 34 combinations go to post and from those, just two double clears were put on the board. Claiming victory was Andrea Barry and Parc Kickin It, when they raced home in a time of 38.01 seconds. It was a good outing for the Barry family from County Clare, as Michael Barry and Grace Gifford delivered the only other clear in 44.56 seconds. A familiar face in the winner’s enclosure, Jack Dore almost beat the winners time when clocking 38.03, but one on the ground meant a third-place finish for them. Georgia De Bromhead also crossed the line with four faults with Grantstown Snoopy, but her time of 38.07 saw them take fourth place. Accounting for fifth place was Emily Halford and Ballynoe Bulls Eye, four faults in 39.57, while in sixth place was Robbie Sheehan and Flash Dance, four faults in 39.72.

No stranger to success in this league, Senan Reape and Mickybo took the title win in the 128cm division. This combination had dominated this league, claiming four wins.

In the final round, the competition went down to the wire, with eight delivering double clears, but only one combination maintaining a clean sheet in the third round. Leading the victory lap after a faultless performance was Lauren Adams and Ravara Mohawk in a time of 29.87. Completing was a wonderful tour for him, Seanan Reape and Mickybo took the runner-up spot, when they fastest of the four faulters in 28.50. Lauren Adams took third place when she crossed the line with four faults with Brandon Reepicheep in 28.88. There was nothing between the next place as James Derwin and Little Rock Hip Hop, crossed the line with four faults in 28.89. Charlotte McCracken and Uquam d’Emery PFS didn’t waste any time, but four faults in 29.35 saw them slot into fifth, ahead of Isoble Sheehan and Hes A Touch of Magic, four faults in 30.07.

In the 138cm section. Ellen Power and Bear Me In Mind took home the leading rider and pony crown. This combination went in to the final in a strong note, top of the leader board on 28 points. In the final round, 29 combinations battle it out and five triple clears were lodged. Taking the win was Lauren Murphy and Shersheen Second Fiddle, when they clocked 34.90. Taking the runner-up spot was northern rider Jenny Dunlop and Rockin Roxie, who was almost two seconds slower in 36.69. Isobel Sheehan took another place, when she partnered Bay Times to a clear in 37.81 for third place. Taking Fourth place was Isabelle Boland and Leiter Ben, who clocked 39.80, ahead of James Derwin and Shenandoah Sadie, who was last of the triple clears in 43.34. The fastest time of the day was lodged by Kian Dore and Tynagh Sunshine in 35.30, but four faults saw them take sixth place.

A previous winner in the league, Francis Derwin’s (JNR) strong performance saw him take the leading rider title in the 148cm, while Rincoola Babog was crowned the leading pony. The combination went into the final round on 36 points, and a win in the final round when they delivered the fastest of seven triple clears in 29.75 cemented the title. The young Athlone rider was on form as he took the runner-up spot with Cul Ban Mistress, when stopping the clock in 30.32. Aaron Costello and Clonlee Clint took third when they came home in 34.01, ahead of Niamh McEvoy and iFlex, in 34.64. Jack Geaney opted for the more careful lines with Slaney Capitalist Cruise and it paid off as they stopped the clock clear in 36.08 for fifth place. Sixth place was filled by Sarah Fitzgerald and Knockroe Clover Mor, who came home in 37.22.

The leading combination in the 148cm 6 & 7-Year-old Starfinder was Niamh McEvoy and Sparkling Lackaghmore Joey. The combination shone in the final round when they delivered a clear in 41.40 to take the win. Also delivering a clear was Oliver Doherty and Springhill Premier, in 43.01 for second, ahead of Rhys Williams and Dundaniel BigSky B, in 43.54. Filling fourth place was Kate Lynch and CQS Quality Cagney, clear in 43.59. Kilkenny rider Isobel Hughes Kennedy and HK Zena also answered all the questions in a time of 43.96 for fifth, while in sixth place was Maisie Adams and Forans Daylight, clear in 44.13. Highest placed Connemara in the 6/7yr old Starfinder Final, with sponsorship of €500 from the Connemara Pony Breeders Society, was Zuwena Barrett riding Kate O’Sullivan’s 6yr old Cillian’s Canal.

** Bob Sweeney Bloodstock Future **

Also being decided on the day was the Bob Sweeney Bloodstock Future Champions. Taking the title after her win was Emily Moloney and Castlhill Titan when they delivered the fastest clear in 27.38 seconds. Lucy Morton and Rickamore Sport took the runner-up spot when they clocked 28.01, ahead of Alexandra Hourigan and Keatingstown Hunky Dory, clear in 28.44. Accounting for fourth place was Ryan Sweetnam and Curravordy and Mazi Million, clear in 29.18, while Abbie Oakey’s clear with Annaghmore Boomahountas in 29.20 secured them fifth place. Completing the top six line-up was Conor Geaney and Miss Dwane, who stopped the clock in 29.64 seconds.

Winner of the 128 U10 85cm division was Ella Rush and Dutch Lady, when they proved fastest of the double clears in 26.47. Jayden Duffy and Muskerry Crusader also came home with nothing to add, but in a slower time of 26.63 for second place, while in third was Saoirse O’ Neill and Noble Sparkle in 28.15. Slotting into fourth place was Glenn Dennehy and Gateau Sonic, clear in 29.30, while in fifth place also on zero faults was Robbie Sheehan and Magneto Cobra in 29.42. Completing the top six line-up was Chloe Clarke and Pepsi Mac, clear in 30.09.

Winner of the 128cm 1m section was Lauren Adams And Moyralla Bob, when they galloped home with nothing to add in 26.79. Adams was chased home by Harry Rush and Tower View Lady, who was clear in 28.73. Zara Jane Kelly didn’t put a foot wrong with Sparkling Ruby May and their time of 29.44 secured this combination third place. Fourth place belonged to Sam Widger and Creevelea, when they maintained a clean sheet in 29.98, ahead of Shane Whelan and Drumcaghey Jacko, in 30.51. Andrea Barry also delivered a clear with Soxs Bay, but in a slower time of 30.98 for sixth place.

It was a great outing for the McCracken family as Charlotte McCraken and Glenford Clausa took the 138cm 1.10m title, when they delivered the winning round of clear in 28.99 seconds. Not content with the win, Charlotte also took the runner-up place with Tynan Rockey, when clear in 30.97. Over a second divided the next placing as Calum Pearson and Lackaghmore Frishow, crossed the line, clear in 31.93 for third. Slotting into fourth after they delivered a clear was Oliver Doherty and Sparkling Nina Lass, in 34.16, while in fifth was Ruben Foley and Belem Du Verdon, clear in 44.09. Leon Van Cauwenberge and Quantum Midnight Gypsy had an unlucky four faults, but their time of 31.12 meant the took sixth place.

Huge thank you to our sponsors Coolmoore, Bob Sweeney Bloodstock & Connemara Pony Breeders Society