Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Young Riders

ShowjumpingIreland National Young Rider Championships


This year the Young Rider Championship will take place at Barnadown Equestrian Centre, Cough, Co. Wexford from August 18th-20th.         


Click here for the full schedule


This year the Young Rider Championship was hosted by Barnadown Equestrian, it was a busy weekend for our competitors as they had a packed three day schedule.

The opening class of the Championship was the MM Horse Trucks Welcome Stakes 1.10m with Kirsti Connole (Zazu Van Terhofstede) took the spoils in the Young Rider division, Jack Ryan took both first and second in this class in the Junior division with Sandballin and Finnik Beowulf respectively.

Lewis Trenier and his mount Royana De Clairias took the top spot in the Children on Horses division of the Welcome Stakes.

Laura Connors on Just Jump was victorious in the Young Rider division of the 1.20m Challenge Stakes, whilst Ciaran Nallon and Mark Finnerty battled it out on the Junior division. Nallon proved successful and gained first and third position with Finnerty stepping in to take second place.

The final class of the day in Connelly’s Red Mills Arena 1 was the 1.30m classic. Nicholas Connors had double clears on two mounts which left him with a first and sixth place result. The winning time was aboard Lantio 31 and was the quickest of the bunch with 31.40. Hot on his heels was Jack Ryan who missed out by .03 of a second.

Jack Ryan & Nicola Fitzgibbon

Tatianna Ormiston and Bobbie Carolan posted the fasted time in the 90cm on the opening day with an unbeatable 29.94. Elle-Mia Toner was the closest to Ormiston but had to settle for second place aboard Paulank Callowking.

Emer Kavanagh rode Vinsoa D to victory in a competitive 1m class sponsored by Equine Safety Solutions with twelve double clears. Kavanagh had the fastest of the lot in a time of 30.55. Timmy Keogh and his mounts Tullyunshin Skyfall and Millicent Be Golden came second and third respectively.

The Pro Am class kindly ended the first day in Arena 2 with Shane Molloney and Ballyconnery Wood taking the spoils the fastest of only five double clears (41.19). Samantha Foley came in second with a time of 43.00 and Niamh Bennet completing the jump off course in a time of 45.54 to fall into third place.

Mark Finnerty saw success in the opening class of day two, which was the MM Horse Trucks 1.20m Table A. After coming second the previous day, Finnerty stepped up again with Emma BWB securing victory in a time of 49.39. Sarah Kate O’Donovan and Valenthia proved successful in the 1.10m in 27.94.

Saturday’s 1.30m was won by Jack Ryan aboard Cavalier Teaca in a time of 27.15. With ten double clears, Ryan knew it would have to be a fast one. Cian Harrison and Wannahave just missed the top spot recording a second round time of 28.36.

The Botanica International 1.15m Pro Am was the last class in Arena 1 on the second day. Catriona Redmond found success with her own Kahula Du Karl proving the fastest of just three double clears. Emer Kavanagh and Dolly Mix took up second place with a time of 32.36 and Shane Roche with Cassies Dream rounded off the podium in third place with a time of 34.45.

Arena 2 saw the 1.10m which was divided in two with Children and Horses and Young Riders sections. Samantha Foley and Verdis Diamond went on to win the Yound Rider division, while Orlaigh Ryan and Lates Sparkley took the spoils in the Children On Horses division. Lewis Trenier had success on both mounts being awarded both second and third prize.

The two phase 90cm saw Tatianna Ormistown and Bobbie Carolan taker their second victory of the Championship in a time of 25.35. Lewis Trenier and Royana De Clairias were successful in the 1m class. Trenier stopped the clock in a time of 25.81 which proved uncatchable for Aoife Kavanagh and Vinosa D who took up second place.

The final day of the Championship saw the first class in the main arena (1.10m Championship) found Shane Moloney the victor aboard Lorcan Hennessy’s Ballynoe Cruising Riot with the fastest of just five clears in a time of 32.90. James Connors Smyth found himself in both second and third aboard Miss Tonic and Pepper Pot.

The 1.10m Children On Horses Championship Final kindly sponsored by Botanica International saw Orlaith Ryan and Lates Sparkey take victory with the only clear in the first round.

Orlaigh Ryan (1st), Sean Duggan (2nd), Lewis Trenier (3rd).

The SJI Young Rider’s Committee kindly contributed toward the 1.20m Championship Final which saw Daniel McAlinden and Knock Ash take the top spot in a time of 37.09, fractionally ahead of Laura Connors and Justjump who finished on a time of 37.15.

Daniel McAlinden

Jack Doyle, having a hugely successful weekend topped it off by winning the EIS (Equine International Shipping) 1.30m National Championship final aboard Cavalier Teaca in a time of 40.07, Johanna Talvio and Oblivion came home with the only other double clear and a time of 43.12. Edward Doyle Jr and Billy Salsa, although, faster in time than Talvio had to settle for third place with one pole on the ground in the second round.

The 1.15m Sportmans Final for Pro Am sponsored by Showjumpers Club saw more success for Shane Moloney as he steered Ballynoe Crusing Riot to victory in a time of 38.75, chased by Susie Osborne and Milchem JJ in a great time of 39.77, but Moloney proved he was unstoppable.

Shane Moloney, winner of the 1.15m Young Rider Championship 2017

The Primecourt Printers 1m Championship Final saw another victory for Lewis Trenier and Royana De Clairias with a double clear and a time of 32.65. Trenier also clocked a fast time aboard his other mount, Lanzamore, but sadly with a pole on the ground, Trenier was denied the one, two and Lanzamore settled for third position.

Lewis Treiner and Royana De Clairias

 Lorraine Younge posted the only other double clear in the class to step into second place in a time of 44.60.

The Young Rider committee would like to thank Barnadown for hosting such a wonderful weekend, the parents and riders who participated in the championships and their very loyal sponsors, who contributed generously towards the success of the weekend.