Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web




The National Pony Championships were held at Ennis Showgrounds from 22nd to 25th August, this move proved to be very successful with a total of sixty nine classes jumped over the four days. Rafael Suarez had been brought in to design the tracks in the main arena with Paul Duffy, Ray Buchanan and Alistair Megaghey overseeing the other three arenas.

Fortunately the weather was reasonably kind throughout and competition started sharp every morning and continued until early evening.  Once again, the Committee in Ennis were successful in securing some very valuable sponsorship from Dubai Duty Free and this was a very welcome addition to the Show.

There were many titles on offer during the show from the Under 8 and over 8 and under 10 discovery classes, the Starfinder final was held on Sunday, the penultimate leg of the Pony Premier took place on Friday and the overall National Champions were crowned on Sunday. Saturday was team day from Under 8 teams to 148 Regional teams there was huge excitement as many athletes made their debut appearance and benefitted greatly from the experience.

The Allianz Starfinder of the Future final took centre stage on Sunday afternoon with a back to back win for Abby Morton and her now seven year old ‘Tynan Bo Bo Bear’ as this combination claimed the title for the second year in a row, following on from their two wins in the age class at RDS.

The 128 Pony Premier was won by Jason Foley and ‘Little Lord of The Hills’, leaving Foley at the top of the leader board heading into the final leg at Banteer on Saturday 7th Sept. In the 138 division Harry Allen and ‘Fountain Ranger’ claimed the win adding to their points tally, whilst the 148 Premier was won by James Kenny and ‘Bertie Brown’.

The National Discovery finals saw Erin Crawford and ‘Crindle Bee Two’ crowned as the Over 8 and Under 10 champion with Mark Fitzgerald winning the Under 8 title on Little Lady.

Taking the National Pony Discovery 2013 title was Meadhbh Mealiff and the 148 pony ‘Master Stevie G’, this was a very strong competition this year as we continue to produce some lovely young ponies.  Alo McEntee and Richard Wright cast their experienced and critical eyes over the initial field of thirty two starters, 50% of which were called back for the final with four of these recalled for a further viewing where the 5 year old dun gelding Master Stevie G owned by Kevin Mealiff was crowned the winner.

The National Championship titles were scored over the three respective classes where the athlete / pony combination earned points on a number of starters ratio. The 128 title was won by Emma McEntee and ‘Star Spangled Banner’, the 138 title went to Olivia Roulston and ‘Claggan Supreme’ with the 148 being won by James Kenny and ‘Bertie Brown’

Many thanks must go to all those who sponsored, officiated and helped throughout.