Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web




A sun drenched Ballivor Horse Show in County Meath played host to the seventh leg of the TRM/Horseware National Grand Prix League where Tholm Keane and Warrenstown You 2 were the big winners, collecting the lions share of the €6,000 on offer.

Kilkenny based, Keane steered the experienced Narcos stallion belonging to the famous Irish Tenor, Ronan Tynan to a time of 42.06 with all the poles intact.

Keane was the winner of the opening leg of the League at the Louth County Show in April and following todays win and several places, the Waterford born rider moves to second place in the League on 26 points, 13 adrift of the League leader and reigning Champion, Greg Broderick who took second this afternoon.

Noel and Lisa Cawley have already got two wins under their belt this year courtesy of Golden Exchange and Rincarina and the former slotted into second for Broderick.

The Cruising mare helped Broderick win last years National Grand Prix League and he moves to 39 points following his second place today.

Leading National Hunt Jockey, Robert Power has made a notable return to Showjumping this year and he follows up a fifth place finish in the Spring Tour Final in April with an impressive double clear on Doonaveeragh O One to take third this time around.

Neal Fearon recorded the last of the double clear rounds with Exelsoir Van De Noorsheuval in a slower time of 46.94 to slot into fourth place.

Recent winners of the National Grand Prix at Cavan, Peter Smyth and Victoria Rose recorded the fastest time of the day with a blistering round to stop the clock in 40.56 but with a fence on the floor, the former National Grand Prix League Champion had to settle for fifth.

Fellow Ulsterman, Harry Marshall also recorded a quick time on Kingdom, stopping the clock in 42.18 but also incurred four faults to finish sixth.

The eighth leg of the TRM/Horseware National Grand Prix League is the highlight event in an action packed schedule at the Galway County Show next Sunday.

TRM/Horseware National Grand Prix - Ballivor

€6,000 kindly Sponsored by Ballivor Horse Show

1)Warrenstown You 2/Tholm Keane 0/0 42.06
2) Rincarina/Greg Broderick 0/0 43.28
3)Doonaveeragh O One/Robert Power 0/0 45.11
4)Exelsoir van de Noordheuval/Neal Fearon 0/0 46.94
5)Victoria Rose/ Peter Smyth 0/4 40.56
6) Kingdom/Harry Marshall 0/4 42.18

13 into jump off