Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web



Graham and George win opening round of National Grand Prix

A successful start to the summer season for Donegal based Kenneth Graham and George who secured victory in the opening round of the Showjumping Ireland National Grand Prix with a double clear and time of 38.41. This combination were also successful this time last year, winning the 2017 opening leg in Louth County.

Today, 21st of April saw 92 starters take on the Tom Holden built course in the Tommy French arena at the Meadows Equestrian.

Kindly sponsored on the day by Henry Murray & Co. the first leg saw just 15 combinations tackling the 1.40m course with no faults to go through to the second round.

First to take on the jump off course was Mikey Pender, who struck a very fast time of 39.83 with his mount Casanova Van Overis Z. Pender who has been very successful abroad already this season had to settle for second place to Graham in this leg, however, did take home the top Young Rider prize of the competition and €100 TRI Equestrian voucher for his success.

Jack Ryan and Cavalier Teaca kept all the fences upright and took up third position in a time of 40.09.

Vicki Anderson who had a great start to the season during the Connolly’s Red Mills Spring Tour took up forth place with a double clear in a time of 40.09.

Gemma Phelan was the only rider to have two horses into the jump off. One of which was Rory Costigan’s GRC Acapella who got around in a time of 46.40 to secure fifth place. The second of Phelan’s mounts, Quality Vilane unfortunately had the first fence down in the jump off in a time of 45.08, which in turn left Phelan’s second horse in seventh position.

Tholm Keane and BMH Big Time stopped the clock in a time of 47.78 with all poles still standing to slot them into sixth position.

European Pony Meadlist Kate Derwin and Whiterock Crusise Down crossed the line in a time of 45.44 with one fence down to secure eight position out of the starting ninety-two combinations.


Next stop for the National Grand Prix is the 28th April at Portmore Equestrian  


1st: Kenneth Graham, George (0/0-38.41)
2nd:Michael Pender, Casanova Van Overis Z (0/0-39.83) -Top placed young rider
3rd:Jack Ryan, Cavalier Teaca (0/0-40.09)
4th:Vickie Anderson, Zack (0/0 -46.38)
5th:Gemma Phelan, GRC Acapella (0/0-46.40)
6th: Tholm Keane, BMH Big Time (0/0-47.86)
7th: Gemma Phelan, Quality Villane (0/4-45.08)
8th:Kate Derwin, AHG Whiterock Cruise Down (0/4-45.44)
9th:Anna Carway, Claricella (0/4-50.13)
10th: Jessica Burke, Clonguish Vivaro (0/4-57.38)